People say pain best reflects the real state of the body, because ordinary people can’t endure pain. When the brain receives a signal of “being attacked”, the body naturally activates the protective mechanism to respond to the resistance. Reaction. Medically, pain is also used to diagnose the patient’s condition and efficacy. It is also known as the Pain scale. The following are 10 types and methods of assessing pain, but remember that only by finding the method that best suits you can ensure a smooth treatment.

Measuring multi-level assessment

Prior to World War II, healthcare workers used the Pain threshold to observe the patient’s physical response to irritation before giving appropriate treatment. method, but due to the inconsistency in the tolerance of each person to the pain, this measurement standard is highly missable.

Then, we have a more familiar scale assessment that is still widely used in the diagnosis of different diseases, and according to the Harvard Medical School , multiple layers of assessment are often safer and more details as possible. Although testing may take a long time, the results will be closer to the real situation, after all, we don’t want to be misdiagnosed, and missed the golden treatment time.

Pain assessment methods may not be suitable for all ages

Among the many pain assessment methods, in addition to quantitative analysis, there is another method called Qualtive analysis), which is used to detect the progression of pain symptoms, such as improvement or deterioration, while the latter is used to help clarify the cause of pain, such as disease, or side effects of treatment.

In fact, both assessments have their blind spots, and only by combining them can improve the accuracy of treatment, and good communication between patients and physicians is necessary, which is healthy. It is important to note that the following pain assessment methods may not be suitable for all ages and may be too simplistic, so be sure to consult your doctor before testing.

Numerical rating scale (NRS)

Generally used for people over 9 years of age, because the assessed person needs to be able to express the degree of pain, the scale is usually 0 to 5, or 0 to 10, 0 to no pain, 10 to severe pain, evaluation Time is possible before and after treatment.

Visual Analogue Scale (VAS)

Similar to a numerical scale, this assessment requires the appraiser to draw a mark on the 10m scale, with no pain on the far left and severe pain on the far right, except that there will be no numbers on the scale. The doctor then uses the sign to calculate the patient’s pain index, but the downside is that each person understands the pain different. The recommendation is for reference only.

Categorical scale

Using a combination of numbers and visual results in an evaluation method like the Wong-Baker Face Pain Rating Scale, which does not have only two Extremely contrasts, but you can score finer, like, there is no pain, slight pain, pain, pain, very pain, severe pain.

This method especially captures the child’s attention, and because it has cute colored expressions in each category, children who don’t even read the text can also choose their pain situations by crying expressions, although In this way, it may still not be able to diagnose the real cause of the pain.

Descriptor Differential Scale (DDS)

This evaluation method has 12 categories and has a scale for each category, very weak to the left and strong to the right. The evaluator can draw the most realistic picture according to his or her physical condition and pain condition.

Brief Pain Inventory (BPI)

Like the name of the scale, it can be said to be a quick and straightforward way to understand your physical condition. There are 15 questions in total, each of which has a scale for the respondents to select, covering the Activities, interactions with people, sleep conditions, and more. Everyone has a different endurance to pain.

Mankoski Pain Scale

This assessment scale has a complete classification of pain and corresponding explanations for healthcare professionals and the evaluated person and family members at a glance. The classification is 0 to 10, 0 to no pain and 10 to severe pain.

FLACC Body Response Test

This assessment is usually observed by a physician to determine the patient’s pain stabilization and is used in people with imperfect speech, such as children who are still learning to speak, and Dysphasia’s For people or the elderly, FLACC represents individual body parts, including facial expressions, leg movements, mobility, crying, and soothing.

Each category has a score of 2, the lower the healthier the score. The results are: 0 for relaxation and comfort, 1 to 3 for mild discomfort, 4 to 6 for moderate pain, severe pain and discomfort.

Child Incident Impact Scale (CRIES)

For infants under 6 months of age, this assessment may be used to observe baby’s crying response, oxygen condition, vital signs, facial expressions, and insomnia. The assessment is usually tested by a healthcare practitioner, with 0 points for no pain and 2 points for severe pain.

COMFORT Behavior Scale

When a person is unable to express his pain, medical personnel may use this assessment method, including children, Cognitive function impairments, or taking tranquilizers. The scale has 9 columns, each category has a 1-5 assessment criteria, including alertness, sedation, respiratory distress, crying, body Activity, muscle tone, facial tone, blood pressure, and heart rate.

McGill Pain Questionnaire (MPQ)

This is the most common pain assessment method. It contains 78 interpretations of the patient’s condition. The evaluator needs to circle the words that are close to himself. The score is rated by the number of words selected, especially for rehabilitation process, because patients can better understand their physical condition.